No Money, Got Honey: Songs for the Poor but In Love

Posted on October 27, 2013

0


We got wuv | foto@me

We got wuv to pay the bills | foto@me

So the bro-dude got married to his high school sweetheart last weekend. It was a beautiful wedding and we all now have a residual beam in our (cold, withered) hearts. At the dinner event, my sister and cousins formed a short-lived orchestra comprising of a guitar, a ukele and several strained voices. They performed this song.

Don’t you worry there, my honey
We might not have any money
But we’ve got our love to pay the bills

Ingrid Michaelson, “You and I”

By the way, is it “Let’s get rich and buy our parents homes in the South of France” or “buy our parents’ homes”? You know the second one ain’t gonna fly. Oh, misguided little apostrophe.

I thought, apart from it being aw-shucks-how-sweet, that the song was hilariously apt, especially in the Singaporean context. This doesn’t even refer to the crippling costs of hosting a wedding dinner, which can be (somewhat) softened by our lovely tradition of giving the wedded couple blessings in the form of money stuffed into red envelopes. No, I am talking about owning a marital home in Singapore. Basically, you’d have to be pulling in some pretty decent dough if you want to have your own place without a 30-year, multi-generational loan. Space is a BIG premium in the city-state.

But! There are silver linings. All is not lost; it’s not all gloom and doom. The young and broke can, for example, take heart from my little ole playlist here. Sit in a semi-furnished room holding hands and letting the strains of pure gooey passion wash over them. What? I didn’t say I was going to make sense. So if you are broke/ skinned/ penniless/ destitute/ impecunious but so, so, so in love-sweet-love, these songs are for you. Go forth and make love babies. But not if you live in Singapore. If you live in Singapore, maybe put away 15% every month for the next 5 years first.

.

They say our love won’t pay the rent
Before it’s earned, our money’s all been spent
I guess that’s so, we don’t have a pot
But at least I’m sure of all the things we got

David Bowie & Marianne Faithfull, “I Got You Babe” (Sonny & Cher Cover)

I know, I know!!! It’s a Sonny & Cher Song. It’s The Sonny & Cher Song. But David Bowie is wearing a black feathered heart as a breastplate and Marianne Faithfull is dressed as a bedazzled nun. HOW CAN YOU NOT.

.

They furnished off an apartment
with a two room Roebuck sale
The coolerator was crammed
with TV dinners and ginger ale

Chuck Berry, “You Never Can Tell (C’est La Vie)”

Wikipedia tells me that this song was composed when Chuck Berry was incarcerated with the intent to commit a sex crime. That… is difficult to respond to.

And, you have seen this, right? RIGHT?

I can TOTALLY do the John Travolta part.

.

I ain’t got no money
I ain’t got no car to take you on a date
I can’t even buy you flowers
But together we can be the perfect soul mates

Timbaland, “The Way I Are”

Oh, I don’t know about this one though. Everyone in the music vid looks plenty rich to me. Plus, in the next verse Timbaland assures his lady love “if you strip, you can get a tip” which maybekindasorta ruins the whole “we can be perfect soul mates” profession.

.

Now I’ve found you
There’s no more emptiness inside
When we’re hungry, love will keep us alive

Liquid Blue, “Love Will Keep Us Live” (Eagles cover)

I’m too embarrassed to post an Eagles song here, so I dug out this cover. But seriously I think this band did a bitchin job. The vocals are lush.

By the way, do check out their “Georgia on my Mind” cover. It sucks that I can’t find out who these bearded boys are. As one commenter said, “There’s a lot of hair in that video. But the arrangement is awesome.”

.

When I’m working, yes, I know I’m gonna be
I’m gonna be the man who’s working hard for you
And when the money comes in for the work I do
I’ll pass almost every penny on to you

The Proclaimers, “500 Miles”

Well it’s not explicitly stated that the dude here is poor, but I’m making thar inference based on his inability to afford public transport. Anyway, the lead is kinda cute, no? Think nerdy Scottish Steve Tyler. Yeah, it’s something about that mouth.

She’s so fine, there’s no tellin’ where the money went

Robert Palmer, “Simply Irresistable”

Um, I think I know where the money went. Yes this song is a bit off-theme, but I just wanted to un-twee my list a little. Anyway, it does sort of fit. Someone’s in love. Someone needs money. They’re just not the same person. Oh, 80s power models! I would fling myself in front of a train for this music video.

.

You don’t need money, don’t take fame
Don’t need no credit card to ride this train
It’s strong and it’s sudden and it’s cruel sometimes
But it might just save your life

Huey Lewis & The News, “The Power of Love”

Yeah!! We are ending with Back to the Future. How could there be a sweeter ending than Marty McFly! Michael J Fox has barely aged a day. May your poor, sweet love endure as well as good genes; in sickness and in health. Prost!