Song of the Day: Luniz’s “I Got 5 On It”

Posted on January 30, 2013

0


IMG_0227

“I’m telling you that’s a five…” | foto@me

This morning, a lovely 70-year-old lady helped me carry an abandoned side table that I’d found by the side of the road and decided to “re-appropriate” (yes, it’s my new buzzword). I know. She’s 65-70 years old. I tried to protest, ok? I’m not proud of it. She had her adorable grandson with her, who was inexplicably clutching a stem of ginger. They were both from Yantai 烟台, China.

(Cool Yantai factoids:

  • Yantai means ‘smoke tower’ because of the wolf-dung-fires that locals would light in the Ming Dynasty to warn of invaders.
  • And, one of its cities is well-known for producing ‘cellophane noodles‘ which is an actual food item. Thanks, Wikipedia.)

I invited them up to my apartment because the cute little tike wanted to see my 3 cats. She didn’t come; the tike did. Unfortunately my heroic cats mistook the little ‘un’s running screech to be an actual threat, and dived for cover under the bed. I had to fob him off with 2 pages of ugly cat stickers instead.

So now, such caring and sharing naturally made me think of the super retro song from hiphop duo Luniz, “I Got 5 On It”, which is a song about loving thy neighbour. Well ok actually it isn’t. It’s about being so broke you have to sidle up to someone equally broke and dodgy-looking, and hissingly suggest that you guys go halves on a bag of weed.

Still, we take inspiration from where we can get ’em, so that night I plugged the tune into my phone and walked around my very gentrified neighbourhood pretending to be a gangster.

Musically, this track is a great example of getting five on it. While Luniz and guest vocalist Michael Marshall sampled Club Nouveau and Kool & the Gang, its irresistable instrumentals and hoodlum beat have also been used by Puff Daddy, Big Sean, Jennifer Lopez and Lil Bow Wow.

Sampling and re-sampling sure does make the world go round. My day started off great, with two new friends, and ended equally enjoyably with a groovy old tune.