Song of the Day: The XX’s “Sunset”

Posted on January 7, 2013

0


“It felt like you really knew me
Now it feels like you see through me”

 

This, I suppose, is for the bright green tree-lined paths that now appear drab and dreary; for the much-loved savory, vinegary mee pok that now taste like blah chok; for the bronzing equatorial sun that is now just irritating. For the home that is starting to tighten a grip around the ankle.

Or perhaps my impatience is an effect of ageing, in which case I would do well to remember the words of my dearest friend Prufrock:

I grow old … I grow old …
I shall wear the bottoms of my trousers rolled

One thing for sure, malaise and music are good bedfellows. Mournful Youtube-surfing has unearthed many sonic treasures, and at least my blog will be well-watered with nourishing sprinkles of melancholy for awhile.

sup_court_sg

 

Also: New Year’s resolution – Shorter blog posts!

 

Tagged: ,
Posted in: Song of the Day