Song of the Day: Silver Swans “Around You”

Posted on June 20, 2012

0


This Song of the Day post was actually inspired by this photo:

birdies. so many nice birdies. foto@me

Silver Swans’ “Around You” begins with “My baby wants a bird…” Which, of course, is the only possible caption for this photo snapped of my darling princess on her morning inspection of the tiny world of the balcony outside my apartment.

.

.

Naturally, I was mistaken. Silver Swans’ song actually begins “My baby WAS a bird…” and that, my friends, is intriguing songwriting.  In fact, checkit:

My baby was a bird, he was undiscovered, until the morning after
Spending every day by clouds, he was a little bit hazy, that’s all he could be
I walk out, I follow you
‘Cause I know all the things you do, and every time I look at you’re your always looking the same
I wanted you to change, but every time I look at you, you’re only acting
I wanted this to be, your turn for breaking, falling and turning
But funny how it is, when nothing changes
I wanted you to change, but every time I look at you, you’re only acting
I wanted this to be, your turn for breaking, falling and turning

Strange, innit? What are they nattering on about? Is it a child? A lover who refuses to grow up? An actual bird? The San Francisco synthpop duo’s ethereal vocals and soft-touch electronica is almost otherworldly. Somehow, the weirdness makes sense.

(Their bandcamp here.)

foto@indierockreviews.com

Life has been hectic lately, and this floaty, shoegazey, dreamy electpop  that curls like soothing tendrils around the room (I’m also drunk) is perfect for when you’re too tired to even clench your buttcheeks in time to beat-heavy music. Bizarrely, though, the band named itself after the villians in the Wonder Woman comics, an evocation completely incongruous with their gorgeous, lush, subtle sound.  I mean, listen to this beautiful cover of Lana Dey Ray’s “Video Games”.

Right? Learn and listen more from the band here, here, and here. There’s some mixed review of Forever, the duo’s latest album that the song “Around You” comes from – Consequence of Sound wondered if the album as a whole might be inconsistent. I do agree that not all songs are as outstanding as the others – youtube them and click down the list – but this is one really intriguing band and Ann Yu’s mesmerising vocals are gonna keep me coming back for more.