Song of the Day: Rye Rye feat. M.I.A. “Sunshine”

Posted on March 12, 2012

0


Ahoy Captain! foto@me

The song actually popped up on my music player this morning as I was on my way to work, and I’ve been on a winning streak ever since cos this is SUCH a winner song. This song is the exotic bitch your boyfriend is in love with, who DJs for the first time and rocks it, who has perfect skin despite going to sleep with all her makeup on, who creams your ass at the pool table and dares to laugh about it. Somehow it set the mood for the day and I’ve been having a mighty shitass awesome day since. So far, that is, but hey, I take what I can get.

And the music vid tells it like it is. The entire mv is beautifully sun-dappled, streaked with yellow and pulsing with happy-times vibe. I normally find M.I.A. insufferable but I have to admit she’s a really good vocal fit here with Rye Rye’s sharp, girly rapping. Plus she looks stunningly beautiful. Shit. I think this vid is definitely a serious contender for my Gallery of All-time Fav MVs. It’s got all the best ingredients – Cute, happy girls in ripped shorts, silky ombre-skinned boys slam-dunking, double-dutching (I call it skipping!) and incredibly fierce booty-shaking. Also, scenes throughout the mv are cut with low-def 240p format video shots, which are my fav, cos they give the entire mv a seriously cool urban-retro vibe.

.

.

Here’s the making of. It’s not phenomenal, but it exists, so I’m linking it. Youtube is driving me nuts, making me watch dumbass ads before the vids start, but that’s free shit for you I guess.

.

.

And now I am off the spend the rest of my day winning super hard with a drawley dumdumdumdumdumdumdumdummmm in my head.