Song for Homecoming: Best Coast’s “Bratty B”

Posted on January 2, 2012

3


心爱的新加坡 foto@me

Best Coast is one of my fav garage rock-type bands. Their album Crazy For You has been on repeat mode on my music player several times, just coz it’s so easy and comforting to listen to. And that is definitely not meant in a disparaging way. I firmly believe music doesn’t always have to be crazily left-of-field to be “good”. BC is good the way they are. They also have an awesome album cover featuring a cute lil kitty, which always gets me.

Here kitty kitty kitty kitty kitty kitty kitty kitty kitty kitty

Umm, I’ve not seen them live though, and the clips on Youtube aren’t exactly awesome. Somehow the heavy twanging guitars and drawling vocals of lead singer Bethany Cosentino don’t transfer very well via the videocam–>online vid–>listener-at-home’s-ear conduit. So while I’d like to post a live performance, I don’t wanna lose the essence of the song.

This is a song for homecoming because it’s an apology to my beautiful country, which I’d been bitching about relentlessly the entire time I was away. Sorry, I miss you and I promise I won’t be such a brat anymore.

Here’s the soundcloud for the folks in you-kn0w-where who can’t access Youtube cos of The Great Firewall. Jesus, get a VPN already.

Also good from BC:

“Our Deal” was directed by the lovely Drew Barrymore in Romeo-Juliet/ West Side Story style. Uh, since there is probably no graceful way of saying this, I’ll just come right out and say it’s… kinda lame (the plot “twist”, arghh) and juvenile and a cliched treatment of an already overdone theme. But the song is great and a heartfelt, honest breakup anthem.

The cute girl who looks so familiar is the adorable Chloë Moretz of Kick-Ass and Let Me In fame. (No that wasn’t a typo, it’s the American remake of Let the Right One In). She also did an excellent turn in 30 Rock’s “TGS Hates Women” episode. And in this mv she did a much better job emoting than the wooden-faced Tyler Posey.

Happy 2012, y’all.

Tagged: ,