A Bit o’ Heh Heh Heh on a Monday Night/ Tuesday Morning aka And You Thought Hootie and the Blowfish was Bad

Posted on December 20, 2011

0


Well the lovely clever folks at The A.V. Club have rounded up probably… the best list made ever this year. A year in crazy-ass band names! Clik-pik:

courtesy of avclub.com

My favs:

The Roast Beef Curtains, only because I’m never heard of, huh, lady part thusly and so accurately described. And whaddaya know, they iz on Yootoob, giving us some interestingly electro-fied reggae: (granted the only comment so far is “That thong shot at the end gave me a rock hard boner.” You know you need to get to the end of the vid – oh, I see.)

~

You Bred Raptors? Yeah, me too. Love the cheerful conversational tone of that name. There’s a ton of ‘tube vids of the trio playing in New York subways, which I think is awesome. It’s extremely enjoyable metal that includes a cello.

~

Say “No!” to Architecture, amazing innit? Who could ever? (Say “no” to architecture, I mean.) In case you’re too lazy to click on the link, their bio says, “They had a house of crystal pillars by the edge of an empty sea, and every morning, you could see Mrs K eating the golden fruits that grew from the walls or cleaning the house with handfuls of magnetic dust which, taking all dirt with it, blew away.” I suppose too many crystal pillars and magnetic dust piles would make anyone say no to architecture. I dig the trance, though:

~

Com Truise. Ahahahahaha. I’m still giggling. I actually think this is fucking clever. They call themselves “master of the transporting synth odyssey”. (Actually I think it’s just the one guy, New York producer Seth Haley.) Here’s the proof:

~

Trippple Nippples. Me and you both, sister. It’s a Tokyo band, very performance art in their approach. Their music sounds like a younger and even crazier Cibo Matto, if that’s at all possible. This video, containing a snippet of their show, is simply sumptuous. And, Pharrell is in it. I won’t spoil the surprise:

~

The Hong Kong Blood Opera. I really dig this name. It’s so awesomely dramatic! They are, of course, from Mexico, and they play a particularly mindblowing breed of Electro Punk/ Hardcore. They seem really likeable, too. And when you actually make it onto Guardian, well…

Seriously, they are my fav find of the lot. I can’t believe anyone can turn me onto punk or anything remotely punk-like, but these guys are The Shizzle.

~

and with that, I will fall asleep to the blood-curdling shrieks of “Wake up! Waaaaake upppppppppppppp!!!!!”

Peace out, yo.