Song of the Very Early Morning: The Fratellis’ “Whistle for the Choir”

Posted on December 10, 2011

0


I dream of beachies.

foto@me

Oof. I have been so busy. In fact, just got in from work and for once am not so bushed I just crash into bed after begging my dollface for cuddles. Several reasons, one of them being this. If you’re in Shanghai, come by at 7pm. You won’t regret it.

So I need happiness, easiness and brainlessness. Enter song of 2007 (I think). I was in a real shit situation with work, and lapsed into a bout of depression which I didn’t realise at the moment. But I remember just the one evening, walking home from a particularly vile day, when this song came onto the airwaves. It made me smile, just for a bit. And since then it has had a special place in my heart.

I particularly like the simple, pared down melody, the un-dramatic vocals and the campfire-style guitars.